Archive | March 2014

Duplicate/ copy a volume on HP StoreVirtual

20 March 2014

11:34

I found myself in a position were I needed to duplicate a copy of an existing volume on a HP StoreVirtual (aka LeftHand) SAN cluster.  Easy, right?  HP StoreVirtual is a mature SAN solution which should do this in a few clicks.  Well it turns out this is not the case.

As any good IT Pro does, I held back the urge to go straight to Uncle Google and Mr Bing and trawled through the HP StoreVirtual documentation and read a lot about the Volume Snapshot and SmartClone features but they don’t provide what I required- an exact copy of an already existing Primary Volume as another primary volume.

The solution in the end was to use a feature called Remote Snapshot.  The purpose of this feature is mainly for DR and testing but can be used for what I needed.  I’ve outlined the steps below:

  • Right click the volume you want to duplicate and click New Remote Snapshot
  • Click the New Snapshot button and provide a name (default name is fine)

  • Click the New Remote Volume button


  • Ensure the Existing Cluster and Add a Volume
  • to an Existing Cluster options are chosen


  • If you have more than one Management Group, choose where you want the duplicate volume to be stored
  • Provide a name and description for the duplicate volume, click Finish and click Close
  • You will be brought back to the New Remote Snapshot window. The Remote Volume Name: and Snapshot Name: fields will have been automatically completed.
  • Click OK.


  • This will kick off the volume copying process.
  • To view the status of the copying process, click the volume and choose the Remote Snapshots tab.
  • When the % Complete column reaches 100% the copying process has finished, you will not receive a prompt advising this.
  • Right click the duplicated volume (not the snapshot) and click the Failover/ Failback Volume option.
  • Click Next.
  • Choose the option To fail over the primary volume and click Next.


  • Click Next.
  • Add a description, adjust the volume size as required and choose the provisioning type.
  • * Note- even if the source volume is Thin provisioned, this will not be carried over as the Full option will be chosen as default.
  • Click Finish and Close.
  • Now delete the snapshot on the original drive and the snapshot on the duplicated drive.
  • At this stage you will now have 2 identical primary volumes.